top of page

M. Michael Meller Style of Riding Award

Since its inception, the M. Michael Meller Style of Riding Award has been presented to the rider that exhibits the best combination of horsemanship, skill and presentation while competing at top international venues, including the American Gold Cup, Las Vegas National Horse Show, Dublin Horse Show, Live Oak International, Washington International Horse Show and National Horse Show.

Michael Meller believes in supporting world-class competitions and equestrians that showcase the best the sport has to offer.

By giving the award, Meller hopes to encourage riders to strive for excellence while exemplifying good style in the show ring.

Past winners of the award include Conor Swail (pictured), Margie Engle, Jessica Springsteen, Brian Moggre, Lillie Keenan, Beezie Madden, Lucy Deslauriers, Kent Farrington, Sydney Shulman, Alison Robitaille, Heather Caristo-Williams, Charlie Jacobs, Eric Navet and several other top athletes. 


Doc Spirit Award

Presented by M. Michael Meller the “Doc Spirit” Award in honor of Dr. John R. Steele will be presented annually to the horse that best exemplifies the heart and athleticism necessary to be competitive at the highest levels of show jumping.


Dr. Steele, or “Doc,” as he was loving known by many, was a pioneer in sport horse medicine and had a distinguished career as an equine veterinarian. This award recognizes his dedication to the sport and his love for the horses. It is presented annually at the Palm Beach Masters and the Washington International Horse Show. The horses recognized have included Lizziemary, Eddie Blue and Cristalline.

bottom of page